Musik Awards a great success at Lamana

Another successful Musik Awards last night has shone light on some popular names in the music scene in 2016.

Among names announced more than once to receive awards in different categories at the 13th YumiFM PNG musik awards are Tarvin Tounie, Jaro Local and Stagajah as a band and as a recording label.

As per the presentations, here’s the list of awards and awardees:

Justin Kili Lifetime Achievement Award – late John Christopher Wong.

Despite his passing, his legacy will leave on.

Justin Kili Hall of Fame Award – Gwadu Band, who celebrated their 50 years anniversary in music in 2015 and keep at it, despite having only two surviving members representing the whole band.

Twisties Group of the Year Award – Stagajah band

Meadow Fresh Artist of the Year Award – Tarvin Tounie who snatched it off other nominees like Hotwills, B-Rad, Sai Kay and Mereani Masani.

Skel rice Song of the Year Award – Meri Kalibobo by Jaro Local.

Keynote Music House Best Duet/ Collaboration Award – Rowena by Tarvune Tounie featuring Hotwills and Drex Blunt

Rookie of the Year/ Newest Group of the Year Award – Jaro Local

South Pacific Group of the Year Award – Jaro Local snatching it from his father Sharzy and cousin brother Sean Rii, who were also nominated for the category.

Studio Label of the Year Award -Stagajah productions. Listeners were also give a chance to choose:

Listeners Choice-Artist of the Year – Tarvin Tounie again

Listeners Choice – group of the year – stagajah who’ve defended this for three years now.

Listeners Choice-Song of the Year – Alawake by Male Meninga Kuri for the first time.



Leave a comment:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *